The following agencies are responsible for the implementation of the power sector reforms:

The Presidential TaskForce on Power

The Mandate of the Presidential Task Force on Power

  • • Fast-track improvement and predictability in electricity availability to Nigerian homes and businesses.
  • • Take irreversible steps to promote medium to long term sustainable growth of the Nigerian electricity supply industry.
  • • Restore the consumers’ confidence in the Nigerian Electricity Supply Industry
  • • Establish and implement an effective consumer protection system
  • • Make every Nigerian electricity consumer a customer that is responsible and complies with tariff and service obligations
  • • Establish a competitive power procurement framework that delivers increased generation to meet increasing customer demand
  • • Identify all sources of available excess captive generation in the country and develop a fast-track framework for making such accessible to consumers
  • • Establish and sustain effective communication with power stakeholders and the Nigerian public across the entire span of the Action Plan


The Federal Ministry of Power

This Ministry is the policy making arm of the Federal Government with the responsibility for the provision of power in the country. The Ministry in discharging this mandate is guided by the provisions of the National Electric Power Policy (NEPP) of 2001, the Electric Power Sector Reform (EPSR) Act of 2005, and the Roadmap for Power Sector Reform of August 2010.

The Ministry’s mission is simple – to deliver more power to more people.
Power, so that people can build our economy. Power, so that children can study at night. Power, so that our streets can become more secure. Power, so that we can create jobs. Power, so that this nation, Nigeria, can reach its full potential and become one of the 20 largest economies in the world by year 2020.

This will be done by providing the Nation with a reliable power supply by implementing generation, transmission and distribution projects in the sector and facilitating the emergence of a private sector led competitive and efficient electric power industry.


The Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC)

NERC is an independent regulatory agency which was inuagurated on 31st October 2005 as provided in the Electric Power Sector Reform Act 2005.  First inaugurated in October 2005, the Commission is mandated to carry out:

  •     The monitoring and regulation of the electricity industry
  •     Issuance of licences to market participants, and
  •     Ensure compliance with market rules and operating guidelines.


The National Power Training Institute of Nigeria (NAPTIN)

NAPTIN was established on 23rd March 2009 and commenced full operation in September, 2009. The primary purpose for its establishment is to provide training for power sector personnel and coordinate training activities in the sector. In pursuit of this mandate, NAPTIN has taken over the management of existing seven regional training centres of PHCN. NAPTIN Corporate Headquarters is situated at Plot 1124, Eldoret clos

Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading Plc. (NBET)

In fulfillment of the requirements of EPSRA, 2005 for a “trading licensee holding a bulk purchase and resale license” to “engage in the purchase and resale of electrical power and ancillary services fromindependent power producers and from the successor generation companies…”, and in line with the “Roadmap to Power Sector Reform”, the Nigerian Bulk Electricity Trading, Plc. (NBET aka the Bulk Trader) was incorporated on July 29, 2010. On August 23, 2011, the President, Dr. Goodluck Jonathan inaugurated a nine-person Board of Directors that included the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Mr Rumundaka Wonodi.


The Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NNRA)

Pursuant to the provisions of Section 1 of the Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection Act 1995, the Federal Government established the Nigerian Nuclear Regulatory Authority (NNRA) with the responsibilities for nuclear safety and radiological protection regulation in Nigeria. NNRA began effective operation on 7th May, 2001.

NNRA has been set up by the Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection Act No. 19 of 1995 with responsibility for nuclear safety and radiological protection regulation in Nigeria. The NNRA has as part of its mandate the responsibility to ensure protection of life, health, property and environment from harmful effects of ionising radiation. The ACT further mandates the NNRA to provide training, information and guidance on nuclear safety and radiation protection in Nigeria.


Electricity Commission Nigeria (ECN)

The ECN is the apex governement organ empowered to carry out overall energy sector planning and policy implementation, promote the diversification of the energy resources through the development and optimal utilization of all, inculding the introduction of new and alternative energy resources like Solar, Wind, Biomass and Nuclear Energy.


Nigeria Electricity Liability Management Ltd (NELMCO)

This is an agency set up by the Federal Government to be responsible for the payment of pension to the current PHCN pensioners.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s